Of a Strongman and a Fig Leaf

I have been working on another article and in researching it, I came across this delightfully silly photograph of Eugen Sandow (1867-1925). I was researching purple hair; I don’t know how I stumbled upon it. Eugen was touted as The Perfect Man. Hmmmmm…not entirely sure about that, but the photo did make me smile in this week of South African debate about men exposed. There has been a tiring amount of talk about the Presidential Penis depicted in an artwork, The Spear, now defaced and carrying an age restriction of 16. Click on the link to learn more about it. Back to our Grecian love god, however.

Photo source: Wikipedia

The following is a quote from David Waller who wrote a recent biography of Eugen Sandow.

Eugen Sandow (1867-1925) was a Victorian strongman who was colossally famous in his day and possessed what was deemed to be the most perfect male body. He rose from obscurity in Prussia to become a music-hall sensation in late Victorian London, going on to great success as a performer in North America and throughout the British Empire. He was a friend to King Edward VII and was appointed Professor of Physical Culture to King George V. Sandow’s physical culture system was adopted by hundreds of thousands around the world. He lost his fortune at the time of the First World War and ended up being buried in an unmarked grave in Putney Vale Cemetery.

click here to visit the Victorian Strongman site.

I promise to stop giggling now that I know he was the Professor of Physical Culture to the King of England. Oh, come off it. This is not dignified.

Here’s one more for your viewing pleasure…

Photo source: Museum of London

8 thoughts on “Of a Strongman and a Fig Leaf

    • Home is fun!

      I went slightly loopy post-retrenchment. I got new tattoos and ordered myself a corset and a bespoke dress, with bustle (!)- to wear to business meetings, you know. I also went to a hairdresser and asked her to dye my hair purple. She obviously felt I was too middle-aged for this and gave me a fetching violet colour, which she insisted on calling purple. Not one to rain on a parade (ever), I call my red hair purple too.

      I had wanted to see if there was any historical evidence of women dyeing their hair purple post-traumatically. There was no evidence of this behaviour, but there was Eugen Sandow.

      Thanks for dropping in.

Leave a Reply

