‘Singing in the Rain but it’s not’ Rubbish Day

oh dear! I published this on the wrong blog. Apologies.

It has been raining. A lot. It has rained consistently for 10 days or more. Our house is starting to smell like a cave, the dogs are always wet, to say nothing of the children, and I am developing concerns about the black mould that Dr House so often looks for as the cause of near-certain death growing in secret damp corners.

I woke up this morning to another grey day and thought, “Gene Kelly! I can rock a song and dance”. 23 Thorns has gone back to work in a 9-5 job, so I was short a photographer. I took the rubbish out with my snazzy hat but there was nobody to record it. Most fortunately, on contacting a friend, I discovered that it was plastics day in Fourways Gardens. Into my mom car I hopped and off I dashed, for another travelling rubbish day. Most unfortunately, by the time I arrived, the sun had come out for the first time in weeks, so I present to you Singing in the No Rain. Thank heavens for puddles!

20140312-120337.jpg

20140312-120437.jpg

20140312-120538.jpg

20140312-120621.jpg

20140312-120737.jpg

20140312-120826.jpg

20140312-120924.jpg

20140312-121043.jpg

Happy Wednesday everybody! If the rain never stops, Puddle jump more. It’s wicked cool :)

10 thoughts on “‘Singing in the Rain but it’s not’ Rubbish Day

  1. Glad to hear it isn’t just us. Judging by our ongoing survival there is clearly a type of benign black mold that seems very similar to the deadly black mold lurking on the tv. ;)

    Enjoy your dancing in the grass, maybe your efforts were something of an anti-rain dance!

  2. I can’t wait to jump in puddles :) At the moment Serendipity Farm looks like one of your deserts on steroids and everything is brown and tumbleweedy.

      • So you have 2 states of being…”Hot, brown and crispy” and “Cold, brown and crispy”? At least you have consistency! We get 4 stupid seasons here and you only just get used to one and it is overtaken by the next…I am still getting used to last winter and I am just about to be lapped by this year!

      • We have summer rainfall in Jo’burg, so everything is still green and lovely. The garden looks like a forest – so beautiful – but the mornings are chillier now, the Celtis leaves are yellowing. We look forward to 4 months of not a drop of rain and frozen water pipes. :(

      • We tend to have pretty dry winters here and in Launceston (our closest city 50km away) they get heavy frost but not here. We live close to the river and get very little frost. Can’t wait to light the wood burning stove and pretend that I am living Little House on the Prairie all over again ;) Off to check out what Celtis look like :)

  3. Haven’t heard from you in ages. Then again I haven’t posted on my blog in ages either. How about some history, Tracy m’love? Have you seen the Old English riddles blog? They post with encouraging infrequency, but it’s fun reading (or in my case, ‘reading’ the Old English).

Leave a Reply

